Scientific Advisory Board

Hikal has distinguished chemists and technocrats in our scientific advisory board


Our Scientific Advisory Board has globally renowned chemists who mentor Research & Technology professionals at Hikal.

Dr. Axel Kleemann

Dr. Axel Kleemann has in-depth knowledge and experience in research and development, production, engineering and drug safety. He was the Director of Corporate Organic Research of Degussa AG (now Evonik Industries) for over 10 years. He was appointed a member of the management board of Asta Medica AG with responsibility for research and development, production, engineering and drug safety till 2000. Besides being a board member in various organizations and scientific societies in Germany, Dr. Kleemann is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Protagen AG since 2001, and a member of advisory boards of several biotech and fine chemicals companies. He is the co-author of the standard reference book, Pharmaceutical Substances (5th edition and online version), as well as a member of the editorial board of Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. He holds a Ph.D. in Chemistry from Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main, where he is honorary Professor of Chemistry.

Dr. Goverdhan Mehta

Dr. Goverdhan Mehta is a globally recognized organic chemist. He is currently a National Research Professor, Eli Lilly Chair, School of Chemistry at the University of Hyderabad. He holds a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Pune University and has conducted his post-doctoral research at the Michigan State and the Ohio State universities in the USA. He has been a CSIR Bhatnagar Fellow as well as the Director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, and Vice Chancellor of the University of Hyderabad. He has mentored over a hundred doctoral and post-doctoral students and published nearly 500 research papers. He has over 50 prestigious awards and honors to his credit, nationally and internationally. He has been conferred D.Sc. by over a dozen universities in India and overseas. He was awarded the civilian honor, Padma Shri, in 2000 by the President of India and Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur in 2004 by the President of France. Dr. Mehta was conferred the 'Order of Merit-Commander's Cross' (Bundesverdienstkreuz) by the President of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2016. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and several Academies and Societies around the world. He is a former President of the Indian National Science Academy and the International Council for Science (ICSU) and a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Prime Minister of India.

Dr. K. Nagarajan

Dr. K. Nagarajan has over 50 years of experience as a chemistry professional. He has held various positions as Head, Medicinal Chemistry, Ciba Research Center; Director, R&D, of Searle India, among others. He is a recipient of the Bhatnagar Prize in Chemistry and Lifetime Research Award from the Chemical Research Society of India. He spearheads the scientific research initiatives at Hikal. He is associated with several national research institutions such as the Central Drug Research Institute, scientific agencies such as the Department of Biotechnology and projects of the Ministry of Earth Sciences. Dr Nagarajan obtained his B.Sc. (Hons.) in Chemistry from Loyola College, Chennai and Ph.D. from the University of Madras. He is a post-doctoral Fellow from Wayne State University, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, and Zurich University, Switzerland.